Halo MCC Ranking System Guide

The two ranking systems.

Halo: The Master Chief Collection once had a change to its ranking system. At the moment, there are two different ranking systems across all of the games present in the collection. Therefore, some players often get confused about what the actual ranking system is. To clear out the confusion, we’re going to discuss the Halo MCC ranking system in detail.

Key Takeaways
  • A total of 2 ranking systems are available in this game. One is the skill-based ranking system, and the other is the newly added ranking system.
  • Skill-Based Ranking System: This system had a total of 50 ranks, each of which could be achieved by gathering a ton of XP. 
  • XP could be gained only by winning matches, and losing matches meant you lost XP. You start at the bottom ranking and make your way up.
  • New Ranking System: This newly added system has a total of 30 ranks, including Rookie, Sergeant: First Class, Chief Warrant Officer, Colonel, and General.
  • The gathering of XP was no longer only limited to players winning matches but completing challenges and earning medals were new ways of earning XP.
  • The new ways of earning XP made it a lot easier to rank up as compared to the skill-based ranking system.

Skilled-Based Ranked System

The skilled-based ranked system was the original ranking system found in Halo MCC at launch. This system is similar to the ranking system of the original Halo 2. It has a total of 50 ranks, out of which seven have special icons denoted to them. Every player starts at the first level and ranks up as he makes progress.

The key to ranking up is by winning the match. Winning a match will grant you XP, and defeating high-ranked players will increase the amount of XP granted. However, if you lose a match, then you will lose XP as well. This means that your rank can decrease if your performance is poor.

Halo MCC Ranks
Skilled-Based Ranks

Unfortunately, the skill-based ranking system is no longer being used all over The Master Chief Collection and is only found in the competitive playlists. This was done due to the introduction of Halo: Reach to the MCC.

Updated Ranked System

After Halo: Reach was added to the MCC in December 2019, a new multiplayer rank structure was implemented as a part of Season 1: Noble. This new system took over the previous one and is similar to the rank structure found in Halo: Reach.

Unlike the skilled-based ranked system, players have the luxury to earn XP through a couple of methods in the new system. This includes winning matches and earning medals. In Season 2, the developers introduced another method that allowed players to earn XP by completing challenges. All of this has allowed players to rank up even more quickly. Previously, they had to rely only on winning matches to increase their rank. But now, earning medals and completing challenges contribute to it as well.

Halo MCC Ranks

Another amazing thing about the updated ranked system is that you will be rewarded with a Season Point after you unlock a new rank in the first 100 ranks. This Season Point can be then used to purchase various cosmetic items. However, once a player reaches rank 100, Season Points will be only granted to them by completing different challenges from this point onwards.

New Ranks

The new rank system has a total of 30 ranks. In addition to this, there are a total of 11 Tours. Once a player hits the 30th rank, he can restart his rank progress in a new Tour. Each Tour also has a different shield that is present behind the rank icon. This is somewhat similar to the Prestidge system found in the popular Call of Duty series. The XP requirement for ranking up also increases as you progress from one Tour to another.

The 30 ranks are as follow:

  1. Rookie
  2. Recruit
  3. Private
  4. Private, Second Class
  5. Private, First Class
  6. Lance Corporal
  7. Corporal
  8. Sargeant
  9. Sargeant, Second Class
  10. Sargeant, First Class
  11. Staff Sergeant
  12. Gunnery Sergeant
  13. First Sergeant
  14. Sergeant Major
  15. Command Sergeant Major
  16. Warrant Officer
  17. Warrant Officer, Third Class
  18. Warrant Officer, Second Class
  19. Warrant Officer, First Class
  20. Chief Warrant Officer
  21. Second Lieutenant
  22. First Lieutenant
  23. Captain
  24. Major
  25. Lieutenant Colonel
  26. Colonel
  27. Brigadier General
  28. Major General
  29. Lieutenant General
  30. General
Was this article helpful?

Thanks! Do share your feedback with us. ⚡

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. ✍

Get up-to-speed gaming updates delivered right to your inbox.

We don’t spam! Read more in our privacy policy.

Haddi is a Senior Writer & Editor at eXputer who loves to play games and talk about them like a fanatic. Hadi's years of experience in this industry let him provide a unique and critical perspective on games to share with his audience. His work is also featured on several other websites. You can hit him up on his gaming profile at Steam!

Experience: 5+ years || Previously Worked At Gamepur, Gear Siege, GearNuke

Related Articles