All Sea Of Thieves Curses And How To Acquire Them

Take character modification to a whole new level.

Sea of Thieves is a game that lets you live the life of a pirate. If you’re a fan of the Pirates of the Caribbean series or One Piece, then this is a game that you should try out. There are tons of things that you can do in it, such as getting your hands on Curses. Today, we will be talking about all Sea of Thieves Curses along with how you can acquire them.

For those who don’t know, Curses are vanity items in Sea of Thieves that are pretty rare. They cannot be bought from anywhere and are difficult to obtain. Their only job is to provide unique effects to your character’s body. In other words, they are just cosmetic items and have no in-game benefits.

If you’re not someone who wants to stand out from the rest by making unique changes to their character, then you should not bother with finding them. However, if you think the opposite, then prepare to spend several hours as these Curses are not easy to get.

All Sea Of Thieves Curses

At the time of writing, there exist a total of four Curses in Sea of Thieves; The Ashen Curse, Curse of the Order, Shores of Gold Curse, and the Pirate Legend Curse. All four Curses require you to complete a Tall Tale, which includes a number of missions called “commendations.” However, keep in mind that it can take a lot of time for you to unlock all four. So without any further due, let’s take a look at all Sea of Thieves Curses.

1- The Ashen Curse

The Ashen Curse is the easiest Curse to obtain in Sea of Thieves. In order to get your hands on it, you need to complete the Tall Tale called “The Ashen Curse.” For those who don’t know, this Tall Tale was introduced in the game through the Hearts of Fire update.

Sea Of Thieves Curses
Ashen Curse

In order to unlock this Curse, you must complete the Blackwyche Reborn commendation. But to reach this commendation, you first need to complete all of the commendations listed for Heart of Fire. These include:

  1. The Path of the Eternal King.
  2. The Path of the Foresaken Flame.
  3. The Path of the Burning Heart.
  4. The Liar’s Hideout.
  5. Sticher’s Schemes.
  6. Heart of Fire.
  7. Saver of Souls.
  8. The Fire Rises.
  9. The Blackwyche Reborn.

Each of these commendations will require a lot of effort, and you must complete them successfully in order to get to the Blackwyche Reborn. Once you complete the entire Tall Tale, you’ll acquire the Ashen Curse.

2- Curse of the Order

Curse of the Order is most likely going to be the first Curse that you will get your hands on in Sea of Thieves. This is because you need to complete the Cursed Rogue Tall Tale for it. For those who don’t know, this is one of the first Tall Tales that you can unlock in Sea of Thieves. Therefore, there isn’t any reason why I shouldn’t go for this Curse first. Just like the above-mentioned Curse, you will need to complete all the commendations of the Tall Tale in order to obtain it.

Sea Of Thieves Curses
Curse of The Order

The commendations for The Cursed Rogue Tall Tale include:

  1. The Rogue’s Key.
  2. Relics of the Cursed Rouge.
  3. Free at Last.
  4. The Cursed Rogue.
  5. The Hunter’s Trail.
  6. Briggsy’s Greatest Foe.
  7. Fateful Memories.

These commendations are also time taking, but the reward you get after completing all of them makes the trouble worth it.

3- Shores of Gold Curse

The Shores of Gold Curse will become available after you complete the Shores of Gold Tall Tale, which happens to be the final Tall Tale in the main questline. It is the most challenging Curse to obtain in the entire game. This is because it requires you to complete all the Tall Tale commendations from the main questline as a part of the final commendation. This does involve going through a lot of trouble. However, you don’t have any other option if you’re planning to collect all four Curses.

Sea Of Thieves Curses
Shores of Gold Curse

The Seeker of Grand Adventure commendation will grant you the Shores of Gold Curse. To reach it, you need to complete the commendations before it as well. These are:

  1. The Fabled Island.
  2. Path to Forsaken Fortune.
  3. Shores of Gold.
  4. The Stain of Greed.
  5. Lord of Gold.
  6. Gold and Glory.
  7. Seeker of Grand Adventure.

4- Pirate Legend Curse

Finally, we have the Pirate Legend Curse. To unlock it, you need a Legendary Reputation level, which requires you to have a 50 Reputation level in each of the following companies:

Sea Of Thieves Curses
Pirate Legend Curse
  • Gold Hoarders
  • Merchant Alliance
  • Order of Souls
  • The Hunter’s Call
  • Sea Dogs
  • Reaper’s Bones
  • Athena’s Fortune

How to Equip A Curse in Sea of Thieves

After you complete a Tall Tale, the Curse will become available in your Vanity Chest. For those who won’t know, a Vanity Chest is located on your ship and can also be found at each outpost. Simply open the chest and navigate to the curses tab where you’ll find the curses waiting to be equipped.

More: How To Find And Use Ritual Skulls In Sea of Thieves

Sea Of Thieves Curses
Vanity Chest

These were all Sea of Thieves Curses, along with how you can acquire them. We hope that our guide will help you out on your journey.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks! Do share your feedback with us. ⚡

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. ✍

Abdul Haddi

I'm just a guy who loves playing video games and writing about them. When not gaming, I can be found wandering around in the streets trying to create a film.