Dark Souls-Inspired Horror Title, Skautfold: Shrouded In Sanity, Headed To PS5

The first game in the Skautfold series will release on the PS5, according to the ESRB.

Story Highlights

  • Pugware’s Dark Souls-inspired survival horror title Skautfold: Shrouded in Sanity is releasing on PlayStation 5, as per the ESRB.
  • The game will have a Mature 17+ rating on the platform due to violence and explicit themes.
  • Shrouded in Sanity is the first game in the series and originally launched on PC in 2016.

Skautfold: Shrouded in Sanity, a Lovecraftian survival horror game from Pugware, is heading to the PlayStation 5 as per a new ESRB rating. Initially released in 2016, it is the first title in the Skautfold series and the only one available on consoles. Inspired by Dark Souls and Resident Evil, this horror game will have a Mature 17+ rating on the PS5 and just recently launched on the PlayStation 4 in February 2022.

Not much info is present in the PlayStation 5 ESRB rating for Skautfold: Shrouded in Sanity besides the age restriction. Violence, explicit themes, blood, and gore are cited as the main reasons for the M for Mature rating by the ESRB. Considering how the game is influenced by Dark Souls and takes place in an alternate-history America, this seems fair. You can see a screenshot of the ESRB rating below:

Skautfold: Shrouded in Sanity ESRB Rating
Skautfold: Shrouded in Sanity ESRB Rating

Developed by Steve Gal and Pugware, the events of Skautfold: Shrouded in Sanity transpire in the 1897 USA. However, there is one big difference, the British rule the land instead of the American Patriots in this alternate-history setting. In addition, the country is called the Angelic Empire of Britannia as George Washington lost the Revolutionary War. But, as players find out, all is not good in this Angelic nation. 

Skautfold: Shrouded in Sanity is a horror hack-and-slash game where protagonist Eleanore has to discover and eliminate the source of an unnatural fog enveloping the Berelai Manor. Due to the manor’s insane inhabitants, this task is not easy as they attack you on sight. But, Eleanore will have a hand cannon and a cane to fight them and find answers in this Lovecraftian environment.

YouTube video

Red Art Games first published Skautfold: Shrouded in Sanity on PC as the first game in the franchise. Since then, there have been four sequels to the horror title taking place in the same universe. All of the Skautfold games revolve around the same characters but occur in different countries while dipping into genres like Metroidvania. Skautfold: Knight’s End came out in December 2021 as the final chapter of the Pugware IP.

Every title in the series is available on Steam, with Shrouded in Sanity being the only one on consoles. It is playable on the Nintendo Switch, Xbox One, and PlayStation 4, launching just last year on the latter. And now, you’ll be able to enjoy the survival horror game on PlayStation 5 according to the ESRB rating. No release date is official as there hasn’t been an official announcement yet, but we hope it launches soon.

Did you find this helpful? Leave feedback below.

Thanks! Do share your feedback with us. ⚡

How can we make this post better? Your help would be appreciated. ✍

Subscribe to our newsletter and get up-to-speed gaming updates delivered to your inbox.

We don’t spam! Read more in our privacy policy.


Ahmed Mansoor is a News Writer who has a deep passion for single-player adventure games. He loves to keep tabs on the gaming and technology industries and loves to break stories that interest his audience. He has a Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism and several years of experience writing for games. Experience: 3+ Years || Education: Bachelor's in Journalism || Written 600+ News Stories.

Related Articles

Join Our Community

Enjoyed this article? Discuss the latest gaming news, get expert help with guides and errors, and chat about all things gaming on eXputer Forums and Discord Server. Connect with fellow gamers who share your passion by becoming a part of eXputer's community.