Final Fantasy 16: All Features [Detailed List]

Learn everything there is about the Features of Final Fantasy 16, such as its immersive combat, engaging Eikon Battles, and more!

FF16 has a number of key aspects and features which make it a cut above most RPGs or action games, unlike its predecessor titles in the franchise. In this guide, I will tell you about all the Final Fantasy 16 features that can impact your decision to purchase the title and may also give you a good idea of what you’re getting yourselves into with its complex gameplay mechanics.

Key Takeaways
  • There are four difficulty modes in Final Fantasy 16, and Arcade Mode is the hardest one.
  • Arcade Mode is only for those who have pride in their skills in action-based games.
  • The Active Time Lore feature is the most loved one in Final Fantasy, as it lets you pause anytime.
  • There are 5 accessibility rings that allow you to change the gameplay for FF16.
  • There is currently no DLC planned for Final Fantasy 16.
  • The DLC depends on what type of feedback and reception Final Fantasy 16 receives.

The following are all the features of Final Fantasy 16:

Game Length And All Editions

Final Fantasy 16’s demo was released a while ago. It featured only the first 2 hours of the gameplay. The overall main story would require you to spend around 35 hours to complete it. You can easily do it in 1-2 weeks, depending on how long you play it. However, if you are going for 100% completion, it would take around 70-90 hours. Regarding all editions of Final Fantasy 16, it features a standard, deluxe, and Collector’s Edition.

Final Fantasy 16 Combat And Eikon Battles

The combat of Final Fantasy 16 is what most people are looking forward to. The combat does have some similarities to Final Fantasy 15 and Final Fantasy 7 remake, but it has been improved. Combat is based on Melee and Magic, which gives you the opportunity to have different playstyles. Clive, the protagonist of Final Fantasy 16, can use Eikon’s abilities in battle.

Eikon Battles

Regarding the Eikon Battles, they are something to look forward to. Eikon battles will be unique ones, and they might be different from each other. The Eikon Battles in Final Fantasy are approximately 20. There will also be smaller-scale battles against standard enemies, and the Eikons will appear in human size too. As Final Fantasy 16 is not an open-world game, the Eikon Battles seem to take place in arenas.

Dungeons And Difficulty Options

As expected, Final Fantasy 16 features dungeons that can be explored, and you can find treasures after defeating enemies. The dungeons are often caves or ruins which can be found on the map. Sometimes you must complete the dungeon in order for the story to progress, but sometimes they are optional, so it would be upon you if you want to complete those.

  • There are 4 difficulty levels in Final Fantasy 16.
  • The first one is Story Mode, the second one is Normal Mode, the third one is Final Fantasy Mode, and the last one is Arcade Mode.
  • If you want to challenge your skills, go for the Final Fantasy mode.
  • The Arcade Mode, known as the Ultimaniac Mode, is the most challenging one in the whole series.
  • So, basically, it is made for a hardcore player who has enough pride in their skills in action games.

Active Time Lore Feature

Active Time Lore

Active Time Lore is one of the best features in Final Fantasy 16, and fans have loved it in the demo. This feature will let you pause at literally any moment. It doesn’t matter if you are in combat, there is a cutscene going on, or you are just in the midst of normal gameplay; you will be able to pause it. In a subreddit, a user has said that Active Time Lore is the best implementation they have seen in an action-adventure title.

According to the fans, this feature is the most useful feature that has been added in Final Fantasy 16, and they would love to see it implemented in the other action-adventure games.

Accessibility Rings

Accessibility Rings

With the five different Accessibility Rings, you will be able to change the gameplay of Final Fantasy 16. The five rings are the following:

  • The Ring of Timely Focus: Provides you with a much larger window to dodge as it will temporarily slow down the time before an enemy attacks you.
  • The Ring of Timely Assistance: This is one of the most useful rings as it will automatically issue commands to Torgal, Clive’s constant companion.
  • The Ring of Timely Strikes: Allows you to fight the whole battle by using only one button for all attacks and combos, which can get a little boring.
  • The Ring of Timely Invasion: The ring will let you dodge most of the attacks automatically, so if you are in no mood to dodge your opponent’s attacks, this ring can prove really useful. 
  • The Ring of Timely Healing: It will automatically use the potions to maintain your life whenever nesecarry so that your focus can stay on the battlefield.

DLC For Final Fantasy 16

As of the time of writing, there is currently no DLC planned for Final Fantasy 16. It will totally depend on what type of reception Final Fantasy 16 gets on the launch. If it gets a favorable reception from the fans and critics, then the chances of a DLC are high, but if it doesn’t get good enough feedback, then we might never get to see a DLC.

These are almost all the Final Fantasy 16 Features that are confirmed so far. It is worth noting that there will be a day-one patch that will just be used for some bug fixes and to enhance performance, so it won’t add any more features. With that said, if you are wondering if Final Fantasy 16 is on Game Pass or if it will release on it, then do check the guide on it. After that, make sure to read the guide on All Dominants as they drive the narrative and gameplay and infuse unique mechanics and complexities.

Also, don’t forget to check out the full list of Final Fantasy 16 Voice Actors and Cast to know more about them. Lastly, make sure to visit the page of Eikonic Challenge Mode for a complete walkthrough if you had trouble with it in the demo. 

Did you find this helpful? Leave feedback below.

Thanks! Do share your feedback with us. ⚡

How can we make this post better? Your help would be appreciated. ✍

Subscribe to our newsletter and get up-to-speed gaming updates delivered to your inbox.

We don’t spam! Read more in our privacy policy.

Mina is a Senior Guides Writer and a fanatic who’s obsessed with playing games and writing about them. She’s invested more than 2,500 hours in games like Genshin Impact and Honkai Star Rail. With a Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism, she loves to write detailed guides for beginners and pros in the Gacha Games world. You can follow Mina's gaming activity on her Steam and PSN Profiles.

Experience: 3+ Years

Related Articles

Join Our Community

Enjoyed this article? Discuss the latest gaming news, get expert help with guides and errors, and chat about all things gaming on eXputer Forums and Discord Server. Connect with fellow gamers who share your passion by becoming a part of eXputer's community.