Destiny 2 Root Of Nightmares Raid Start Time

Ready your guns, assemble your team & rock the raid start time in Destiny 2 Lightfall DLC!

Root of Nightmares is the latest raid in Destiny 2 that is part of the Lightfall expansion. While the sequel’s raid so far has been less impressive than the first game, Bungie is trying to shake things up with the latest raid. If you play this game daily with your friends, then you should know about the Root of Nightmares raid’s start time in Destiny 2, contest mode & the new changes that will be part of this massive challenge.  

Key Takeaways
  • Root of Nightmares Raid in Destiny 2 begins on March 10th at daily reset.
  • Pacific Time zone starts at 9 AM.
  • Eastern Time zone starts at 12 PM.
  • British Summer Time zone starts at 6 PM.
  • Australian Eastern Time zone starts on March 11th at 4 AM.
  • Contest Mode is activated for the first 48 hours of raid release.
  • The Mode Provides a fair and balanced environment for every player who participates.
  • The Power Cap for the raid is 1,780 (30 above soft cap, 20 below hard cap).
  • During Contest Mode, player Power Levels are capped.
  • Certain items and gear will also remain disabled, including some powerful Lightfall Exotic weapons and armor mods.

New Raid’s lore Summarized:

  • “Root of Nightmares” is a new raid in Destiny 2 Lightfall DLC.
  • Takes place in a pyramid ship affected by Traveler’s beam.
  • The objective is to charge the root with light to awaken and defeat Nazarec.
  • Survive enemy attacks, charge the root, and defeat the explicator of worlds.
  • Raid lore involves people affected by Nazarec’s power.

What To Expect In Root of Nightmares Raid?

Destiny 2 raide start time

“Root of Nightmares” is the new raid in Destiny 2 that was added to the game in the Lightfall DLC.

  • It takes place in a pyramid ship in Earth’s orbit that was affected by the Traveler’s beam.
  • Nazarec, a god of pain who led the first collapse on Earth, is awakened by the beam.
  • Nazarec fed off the pain and suffering of other species and was killed by Sabathune, who took the Veil.
  • The raid involves charging the root of the pyramid ship with light to bring Nazarec back and then kill him for good.
  • The raid encounters involve surviving onslaughts of enemies, charging the root, and defeating the explicator of worlds.
  • The lore of the Root of Nightmares raid involves stories of people affected by Nazarec’s power, including worshipers, a Scion, and a Guardian who wants to feel his power again.
  • There is also the possibility of Osiris being connected to the curse of Nazarec.

Root Of Nightmares Raid Time in Various Regions

What is Root of Nightmares DLC

The Root of Nightmares raid will begin with the daily reset on Friday, March 10.

  • For players in the Pacific Time zone, the raid will begin at 9 AM,
  • Those in the Eastern Time zone can start playing at 12 PM.
  • Players in the British Summer Time zone can join in at 6 PM
  • While those in the Australian Eastern Time zone will have to wait until March 11 at 4 AM to participate.

Contest Mode, Power Cap & Time

contest mode

Destiny 2 gamers are interested not only in the times the Root of Nightmares raid will begin but also in its Power Cap.

  • As long as Contest Mode is active, the Power Cap for this raid will remain at 1,780 across the board.
  • This indicates that in order to take part in The Root of Nightmares, participants must be at this Power level or above.
  • It’s worth noting that the Power Cap for this raid is 30 points above the soft cap and just 20 points below the hard cap.

During the initial 48 hours of the raid, Contest Mode is activated, creating a level playing field for all participants.

  • This implies that, regardless of how much a player has invested in enhancing their Power Level, every player will have the same chances of success in the first two days of the raid.
  • Such an approach fosters a fair and balanced environment, ensuring that individuals who have spent more time and effort leveling up won’t have an undue advantage over others.

What Is New In Contest Mode?

Destiny 2_ Lightfall expansion (1)

To level the playing field for all players and provide an equal opportunity for everyone to complete a new raid in Destiny 2, the developers have implemented Contest Mode.

  • This feature becomes active for the first 48 hours following the release of the raid and is designed to prevent players from relying solely on their level or gear to complete the challenge.
  • Contest Mode imposes a cap on players’ Power Levels, which means they will have to rely on their skills, strategy, and teamwork to succeed.
  • Moreover, during Contest Mode, certain items and gear are disabled, including a handful of powerful Exotic weapons and armor mods, as well as the Strand Fragment, a highly coveted piece of Exotic armor.

For The Root of Nightmares raid, the following items will be disabled during Contest Mode to ensure all players have an equal chance of success:

Disabled Weapons

  1. Grand Overture Exotic Machine Gun
  2. Fighting Lion Exotic Grenade Launcher
  3. Winterbite Exotic Glaive
  4. Jötunn Exotic Fusion Rifle
  5. Hierarchy of Needs Exotic Bow

Diable Armor & Mods

  1. Citan’s Ramparts Titan Exotic Gauntlets
  2. Empowered Finish Armor Mod

By disabling these items, Contest Mode ensures that all players have an equal playing field. No matter how much a player has grinded or what gear they have acquired, they will not have an unfair advantage during the first 48 hours of the raid’s release. This creates a more balanced and fair experience for everyone involved.


After Grandmaster Nightfalls, Destiny 2’s The Root of Nightmares raid is a highly anticipated event that promises to be one of the most challenging and engaging experiences in the game’s history. With carefully coordinated start times and a Power Cap that allows most players to participate, Bungie ensures that players worldwide can enjoy this exciting new content.

Additionally, implementing Contest Mode guarantees that all players will have a fair chance to complete the raid and adds an extra layer of challenge and excitement to the experience. As a professional video game writer, I am excited to see what The Root of Nightmares has in store for players and look forward to seeing how the Destiny 2 community responds to this latest addition to the game.

This wraps up our Destiny 2 Raid Start Time guide. Before you leave the page, consider reading our Destiny 2 Unlock Deterministic Chaos, How To Farm Artifice Armor, and Everything New In Destiny’s Lightfall Update.


Was this article helpful?

Thanks! Do share your feedback with us. ⚡

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. ✍

Irfan Ansari

With four years of Video Game Journalism and Tremendous love for Gaming, Irfan loves chatting and writing everything about video games.

Related Articles