Elden Ring Complete Family Tree [Explained With Timeline]

Learn your demigod and where they came from!

The easiest way to describe the narrative in Elden Ring is that it’s a massive family feud, so learning the demigod family tree is extremely helpful in understanding the situation. However, like most Soulsborne games, you must study the world, cutscenes, and item descriptions to piece together that information. Fortunately, once you do find the pieces, making the family hierarchy becomes much easier.

Key Takeaways
  • The main family tree in Elden Ring consists of Rennala, Marika, Godfrey, Radagon, and their direct offspring.
  • Out of the nine in-game Shardbearers, 8 of them are included in this tree.
  • Players can learn about the family tree and its related events via item descriptions and NPC dialogue.

The Complete Family Tree In Elden Ring

The image I have below shows the demigods’ family tree, including the parents, offspring, and siblings:

elden ring tree
The complete Elden Ring Demigod tree showcasing every direct offspring of Queen Marika and Radagon (Image by eXputer)

As seen, almost every demigod and Shardbearer is on this family tree, except Godrick the Grafted. He’s not one of Marika’s direct offspring and is a distant relative of the main tree, thus being somewhat of an impure descendant. It’s also worth mentioning that Marika and Radagon merge into one being after giving birth to Miquella and Malenia.

Timeline Of The Demigods

Of course, learning the demigods’ family history can be fairly tricky, especially since it looks like everyone was having an affair simultaneously. 

Here’s a quick breakdown of all the family-related events that happened during the Golden Age in order:

  1.  Marika Marries Godfrey: After the Elden Beast chooses Marika to be Queen of the Lands Between, she recruits Hoarah Loux to battle the Giants. Hoarah Loux later becomes her consort and becomes known as Godfrey, the First Elden Lord.
  2. The Birth Of Godwyn And The Omens: Godfrey and Marika’s first child was Godwyn the Golden, a faithful servant to their cause. The next two twin demigods born were Mohg and Morgott, but they were born as omens, generally considered a spiteful kind.
  3. Radagon Meets RennalaThe crimson-haired warrior Radagon meets Rennala, the Carian Leader, during combat. They fall in love and marry shortly after.
  4. The Birth Of The Trio: Radagon and Rennala’s love gives birth to Ranni the Witch, Praetor Rykard, and Starsourge Radahn, but it’s unclear which order they were born in.
  5. Marika Divorces Godfrey: Since there were no more wars, Godfrey was tired and essentially a walking husk. On mutual agreement, both parties divorced, with Godfrey soon becoming the first Tarnished.
elden lord crown elden ring
The Elden Lord Crown’s description detailing Godfrey’s history and fall from Grace (Image taken by eXputer)
  1. Marika Weds Radagon And Becomes One: With Marika looking for a new consort, Radagon steps up to the occasion and becomes the Second Elden Lord. This was also considered a quick move since Marika was already impressed with Radagon’s combat prowess. Both parties then merge into one being after the wedding (although it’s unclear when they merged exactly.)
  2. The Twin Prodigies Are Born: Through unclear means, Radagon and Marika have two twin demigods, Miquella and Malenia. While the twins were considered a blissful pair, they were each cursed; Malenia was cursed with spreading Scarlet Rot, and Miquella was eternally trapped in a child’s body.
radagon icon elden ring
The Radagon Icon talisman talks about Radagon’s relationship with Rennala and Marika (Screenshot taken by eXputer)

That wraps up my brief guide on the demigods’ family tree in Elden Ring, where I further detailed the timeline to provide a better understanding of the relationships and order of events. If you’re not worried about spoilers, I highly recommend watching this YouTube video, which goes into more depth about the game’s timeline. The video will help you learn more about the relationship between several important NPCs, like Nepheli Loux and Rya, and the demigods.

If you want more insight into the backstory of certain events and characters, here are some interesting lore facts in Elden Ring to satisfy your intrigue. Most of the Shardbearers I mentioned above are exceptional bosses, which you can learn more about by reading my guide on the best in-game optional bosses. And while you’re here, read our Elden Ring review to learn about why it’s one of FromSoftware’s best works yet.


Did you find this article helpful?

Thanks! Do share your feedback with us. ⚡

How can we make this post better? Your help would be appreciated. ✍

Get up-to-speed gaming updates delivered right to your inbox.

We don’t spam! Read more in our privacy policy.

Daniyal is a Guides Writer and Editor at eXputer with over one year of experience in content writing. He's had a passion for tech and gaming for more than 15 years. Ever since his first console, the PS2, he's constantly branching off to different genres, and his go-to at the moment is the Souls experience pioneered by FromSoftware, which is evident by his 1,500+ hours of game time on Elden Ring. You can learn some more about Daniyal's gaming journey on his Steam & Xbox profiles.

Experience: 1+ Years || Mainly Covers Guides || Education: Bachelors in Computer Sciences.

Related Articles